We are pleased to announce and to invite you to attend the 12th Conference on Current Trends in Computational Chemistry (CCTCC). This symposium, organized by Jackson State University, covers all areas of computational chemistry as well as quantum chemistry. This year the 12th CCTCC will be held at the Jackson Hilton Hotel, Jackson, Mississippi on October 31 November 1, 2003. A banquet is scheduled for the Saturday evening and a dinner and reception for Friday.

The format consists of a series of (invited) plenary lectures and poster presentations on Friday and Saturday covering applications as well as theory. As suggested by Professor Pople, last year we inaugurated a new tradition for the second decade of our conferences. Starting with the CCTCC-11 each meeting is featuring a talk named after eminent computational chemists. This year the second presentation in this series will be given by Ernest R. Davidson from the University of Washington. The 12th Conference will also feature another talk given in the ancillary Noble Lecture Series. The lectures in this series are presented in a relaxed, after-dinner atmosphere by the noble speakers and are devoted to noble scientific events and people. As such, it is an exceptional lecture to the conference and, contrary to the regular talks, might not necessarily report any Current findings. This year the talk will be delivered by Isabella L. Karle from the Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D.C.

We are planning to publish extended abstracts (up to four pages each) of all invited talks and poster presentations. Original scientific contributions will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Quantum Chemistry. Manuscripts for inclusion in the special issue should be submitted in triplicate upon arrival at the registration desk. Submitted papers will be subject to the journal's standard referee procedures.

This year, courtesy of Parallel Quantum Solutions, we will again award 3 prizes for the best student poster (Grand Prize: $300, 1st Prize: $200, 2nd Prize: $100).

Jerzy Leszczynski
Chairman of the Organizing Committee